Blockbusters – Finding Jonah – Talk 4

Posted on

feastbayarea-004

Speaker: Bro JC Libiran

Jonah 1:1-3
“The word of the Lord came to Jonah son of Amittai:
“Go to the great city of Nineveh and preach against it, because its wickedness has come up before me.”
But Jonah ran away from the Lord and headed for Tarshish. He went down to Joppa,
where he found a ship bound for that port. After paying the fare, he went aboard and sailed for Tarshish to flee from the Lord.”

You cannot stop God from loving you

BIG MESSAGE: EXPAND YOUR EMBRACE

Speaker: Bro Alvin Barcelona

1 Running Jonah

Jonah 1:3
“But Jonah ran away from the Lord and headed for Tarshish. He went down to Joppa,
where he found a ship bound for that port. After paying the fare,
he went aboard and sailed for Tarshish to flee from the Lord.”

All of us have missions
You cannot run away from your mission
Because your mission will run after you
God has a sacred mission for you.

when you are disturbed, God will give you peace
when you are too peaceful God will disturb you (comfort world)
Holy disturbance

God will finish what he starts in you

2 Reflecting Jonah

Jonah 2:1-3
“From inside the fish Jonah prayed to the Lord his God. 2 He said:

“In my distress I called to the Lord,
    and he answered me.
From deep in the realm of the dead I called for help,
    and you listened to my cry.
 
You hurled me into the depths,
    into the very heart of the seas,
    and the currents swirled about me;
all your waves and breakers
    swept over me.”

What is the Lord telling me in the story?
Hitting rock bottom
Swallowed by your trial
Obey the Lord from the start
Save yourself from a lot of rock bottom

Why Jonah does not want to go to ninive?

Jonah 4:1-3
“But to Jonah this seemed very wrong, and he became angry.
He prayed to the Lord, “Isn’t this what I said, Lord, when I was still at home?
That is what I tried to forestall by fleeing to Tarshish.
I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love,
a God who relents from sending calamity.
Now, Lord, take away my life, for it is better for me to die than to live.”

Because the ninivites are enemies of israelites

God is merciful to all even for the people outside of His covenant.

Who is your ninivite?
Sinu ang ibang tao sa yo?
Embrace the people who are different from you

Leave a Reply

